The BEES! Bzz, Bzz, Bzz.

You may have noticed the bee hives in the corner of the farm. I surely noticed them, and nearly had a coronary when I saw how close they were to my garden patch. Not because Im allergic but because Im utterly petrified, terrified, horrified of bees. Im not scared of spiders, snakes, pedes or rodents but bees send me over the edge. I am trying to make a conscious effort to not run away flailing my arms when one comes near me. You see, I am that one person who bees flock to. I dont know why, it ain’t because Im sweet. Last summer I was enjoying a nice day at Compo beach, and there were relatively few people. Maybe 100 people, and 2 yellowjackets. Well you can take one guess where the yellowjackets hung out. Yep, around ME. That girl you saw running and shrieking? Yeah, that was me. But I digress. The bees at the farm are not evil, theyre gentle and docile honeybees. Right? Right. Theyre gentle. Theyre nice. Ommmmmm…Ommmmmm..nice bees. *inhale* Good for the environment bees. *exhale* Friendly bees. *inhale* Happy bees. *exhale*
Anyway I was curious about the bees and Shira kindly provided me with a link to an article from the NYT about our dutiful beekeeper.  Good stuff.

The Norwalk bee guys (photo credit NY Times)

The Norwalk bee guys (photo credit NY Times)

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Shira said,

    It’s Norm, the dad, who very generously donates his time to manage our hives. They started off a bit slow last year, but word is there will be honey to harvest this season. Proceeds from the sale of the honey will be used for upkeep at the farm/paying our outrageous water bill!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

